June 8, 2023


Complete News World

The College Football Playoff expansion has been suspended, and the current four-team format will remain until 2026

The College Football Playoff expansion has been suspended, and the current four-team format will remain until 2026

The college football game announced Friday that its current four-team format will run through the end of the current contract, which ends after the 2025 season. There has been speculation that the CFP could expand to a proposed 12-team format before the end of the current deal.

“The Board of Directors approved a recommendation by the Management Committee to continue the current four-team playoffs over the next four years, as required by the original 12-year CFP plan,” said College Football Playoff CEO Bill Hancock. “At the same time, the Board expects the Management Committee to continue its discussions regarding the new format that will come into effect for the 2026-27 season.”

A four-person subgroup of the CFP management committee announced in June that it had developed a 12-team format. This format will allow the top six conference champions to gain berths no matter what conference they are in. The remaining six sites will be large bids as determined by the CFP Selection Committee. The first-round matches were supposed to be played on the campus of the top seeded team two weeks after the Conference Championship matches, and the quarter-final matches were supposed to take place on January 1 or 2. .

Multiple events have occurred since that announcement that have changed the college football landscape, including a massive reorganization mine that began in July when the Securities and Exchange Commission announced it was adding Oklahoma and Texas.

“Although the outcome did not lead to a recommendation for an early expansion before the end of the current 12-year contract, the discussions were informative and informative,” said Bill Hancock, CFP CEO. “I am sure it will serve as a useful guide to the Board of Directors and the Management Committee as we define what the final match will look like in the 2026-2027 season.”

See also  No. 4 Alabama defeats Vanderbilt, 101-44, for the biggest win in team history

Worms: Lack of leadership, divided interests crush hopes for supplement expansion

The group did not vote on the 12-team formula in September, but met on December 1 in Grapevine, Texas, to discuss potential alternatives. He also met over three days in Indianapolis in January prior to the College Football National Championship, but no decision was made at the time.

“I am disappointed,” Big 12 commissioner Bob Paulsby said at the time. “We have well-established issues. They are no closer to a solution than they were. [before our meetings]. “

The current four-team format was established after the 2014 season. It takes the top four teams as voted by the CFP Selection Committee, and places them in two of the six pot matches. These toys are rose, sugar, cotton, orange, fiesta and peach. The semi-finals roll across the six pots in a three-year cycle.

“I am very proud to be partnering with CFP as the New Years Six Bowl and we look forward to hosting the CFP semi-finals at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl in 2022 and 2025,” Peach Bowl President Gary Stockan told CBS Sports. “We support the CFP Management Committee and the Board of Directors in their current decision and look forward to continuing to work together with CFP to give back to college football by being the most charitable organization for college football.”

The Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl will be the semifinal sites for the upcoming season.